top of page

It is with great sadness .....

Today, we came together (online) to raise a glass in honour of Patrick. He was many things to many people - husband, dad, son, brother, uncle, son-in-law, mate. He loved his family, his friends, music (especially Phil Collins & SheBangg), the sea, and Hobgoblin. He (often) complained when there was salad on his plate. He had a wicked sense of humor and a fantastic laugh, but it was the sound of his laugh when he made Louise laugh that was my fave. He even had his own catchphrase (its all I fancy) which often accompanied pix of whatever he happened to be eating or drinking. He had one hell of a battle with cancer and he kicked it's ass!


Sadly, on the 27th of March he passed away, after contracting Covid-19. For weeks now I've been trying to come up with the words to pay proper tribute to him. Every time I do, I come up blank. I could easily write him as a character in a book (Rathlin Lass), but off the page, he was truly indescribable. If there was a level above "larger than life" that was Pat. It almost doesn't seem real that he's gone. I keep expecting to see a post with a plate of his spag bol, one of him about to take a sip of beer, or him and the cats, or my faves which was ones of him and his Boofle.


I tried like hell to get a Hobgoblin for today as it was all I fancied, but there's apparently none to be had where we live now. So I had a few Mike's Hard Cranberry instead and know that though we miss the hell out of him, he'll live on in our hearts.






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

That was a long 10 years!

For the first time in 10 years, I've got a job that isn't self-employed and has coworkers. It's a weird feeling. *fingers crossed* that I like it and like my coworkers. The set schedule and having

Goodbye Florida!

We moved to FL in Feb 2008. It was supposed to be a temporary move. Well, that was the plan. And as we all know, not everything goes the way you plan it. In July we piled into the car and drove up

bottom of page