top of page

The things you think of afterwards

Having just published Book 1 of the 5 Boroughs series, I'm noticing a lot of things that I didn't think of until now. Having set up a Facebook page and then a Book Release Event, I hadn't thought about setting up a website.


So now here I am getting the website and blog set up, reflecting on how I should have thought of this earlier so that I could have written about the journey of self publishing my first book. And, oh what a journey it's been!


Besides being a labor of love, it's at times been a source of pride, joy, frustration, worry, and wonder. A lot of it has been a "one woman band". When it comes to self publishing, I don't have a team to format my manuscript for ebook and paperback (which was a learning experience in itself), to create a cover and handle the artwork to spec, or to do any of the promotion for me. However, through it all, it wasn't really a solo endeavor as I've had an amazing group of people lending support as well as knowledge to the project. I couldn't have done it without them.


If you are thinking of getting into self publishing, no matter the genre, surround yourself with supportive people. They don't even have to be people you see every day or even people you've met. During the process I've spoken to two wonderful authors that have been extremely helpful. I've never met them personally, and as we live no where near each other, the chances of ever meeting them are slim to none, but they have been an immense help. Through them I learned a lot of things I didn't even know I'd need to know!


When it comes to self publishing you may not have a team provided to you through a publisher, but the support team you create for yourself is VERY important. Don't miss out on it!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page